Charter Oak Unified School District

A Commitment to Excellence

Tagline Goes Here

Joe MitchellDirector of Student Services 


Overview:
Student Services provides student support in the following areas: attendance, discipline, counseling, health, and child welfare. Our department's goal is to provide comprehensive services that will assist the student in achieving a successful and rewarding educational experience in our district. A few of the areas the department is responsible for include the Annual Notification to Parents/Guardians; student rights and due process; expulsion hearings and procedures; enrollment procedures; attendance policies; interdistrict permits; intradistrict transfers; residency verifications; and the School Attendance Review Board.

Special Education is provided to students who meet eligibility criteria. These students receive specialized academic instruction and related services designed to meet their special education needs, as recommended in their Individualized Education Program (IEP). 

Health Services is responsible for the overall health and development of our students, including communicable disease control, scoliosis, vision, and hearing testing.


DEPARTMENT DIRECTORY

Name Title Ext. e-mail
Student Services/Special Education
Joe Mitchell Director of Student Services 90557 jmitchell@cousd.net
Micki Webb Special Education Coordinator 90539 mwebb@cousd.net
Christine Smith Special Education Consultant 90558 casmith@cousd.net
Linda Vosburg Student Services Technician 90556 lvosburg@cousd.net
Angela Martinez Special Education Records Technician 90554 amartinez@cousd.net
Amalia Colón Office Assistant II 90555 acolon@cousd.net
       

Health Services Office
Camille Virata District Nurse 90551 cvirata@cousd.net
Karen Corbin Program Specialist - SELPA 90553 kcorbin@cousd.net
Candace Frescas Office Assistant II 90552 cfrescas@cousd.net
CLOSE